President Joko Widodo. (BPMI Setpres)
President Joko Widodo. (BPMI Setpres)

JAKARTA (BPN) – The Indonesian Government has announced it will impose an emergency public activity restriction (PPKM Darurat) in the islands of Java and Bali from 3 to 20 July 2021 following the surge in the number of COVID-19 cases, as quoted from the Cabinet Secretariat of Indonesia.

“I have decided to impose an emergency PPKM from 3 to 20 July 2021, specifically in Java and Bali,” President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo said at the Merdeka Palace, Jakarta, Thursday (01/07).

The Government made the policy after a thorough study and substantial inputs from ministers, health experts, and regional heads.

This policy also bears importance in the safety of the Indonesian nation in the ongoing spike of COVID-19 cases.

“As we all know, the COVID-19 pandemic in the last few days has developed very rapidly. This is due to a new variant which is also a serious problem in many countries. This situation requires us to take more decisive steps so that we can curb the spread of COVID-19 together,” the President said.

The President also said that during the emergency PPKM, stricter restrictions on community activities would be in place.

“In detail, on the arrangement of the emergency PPKM, I have ordered Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment to explain as clearly as possible regarding this restriction,” he said.

The Government, the President added, will also use all available resources to work hand in hand in overcoming the spread of COVID-19.

“All state apparatus, (including) the Indonesian National Defense Forces (TNI), the National Police (Polri), state civil apparatus, doctors, and medical personnel, must work hand in hand and do it as well as possible to deal with this pandemic. Ministry of Health has also continued to increase the capacity of hospitals, centralized isolation facilities, as well as the availability of medicines, medical devices, and oxygen tanks,” he said.

READ ALSO:  Indonesia Government Prepares Sanctions for Health Protocols Violators

The President also urged the people to remain calm and alert, while complying with the imposed regulations in a disciplined manner.

“I appeal to all Indonesian people to remain calm and alert, to comply with existing regulations, to be disciplined in implementing health protocols, and to support the work of government officials and volunteers in dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. With good cooperation from all of us and with God’s blessing, God Almighty, I believe we can suppress the spread of COVID-19 and restore people’s lives immediately,” he remarked.

Public activity restrictions will be imposed with several key points as follows:

  1. Activities in the non-essential sector applies 100 percent work from home (WFH);
  2. The implementation of teaching and learning activities (schools, colleges, academies, education/training courses) are carried out online;
  3. Implementation of activities in the sector of:

1) Essentials such as finance and banking, capital markets, payment systems, information and communication technology, non-quarantine COVID-19 hotels, export-oriented industries are imposed by applying 50 percent of maximum work from office (WFO) staff with strict health protocols;

2) Critical such as energy, health, security, logistics and transportation, food, beverage and supporting industries, petrochemicals, cement, national vital objects, disaster management, national strategic projects, construction, basic utilities (electricity and water), as well as industries of daily needs are enforced by 100 percent maximum WFO staff with strict health protocols;

READ ALSO:  Face Masks is a Must, Says President Jokowi

3) Operating hours of supermarkets, traditional markets, grocery stores that sell daily necessities are limited to 8 PM local time with a capacity of 50 percent of visitors; and

4) For pharmacies and drug stores are allowed to open for 24 hours;

  1. Activities at shopping centers/malls/trading centers are temporarily closed;
  2. The implementation of dine-in in public places (food stalls, restaurants, cafes, street vendors) only accept delivery/take away services;
  3. Construction activities may operate 100 percent by implementing stricter health protocols;
  4. Mosques, prayer rooms, churches, temples, viharas, and pagodas as well as other public sites that function as places of worship are temporarily closed;
  5. Public facilities (parks, tourist attractions, and other public areas) are temporarily closed;
  6. Arts/cultural, sports, and social activities (locations of arts, culture, sports facilities, and social activities that can cause crowds) are temporarily closed;
  7. Public transportation, mass transportation, taxi (conventional and online), and rental vehicles are enforced with a maximum capacity of 70 percent by implementing stricter health protocols;
  8. A wedding reception is attended by a maximum of 30 people by implementing stricter health protocols, provision of food is only allowed in a closed place and to be taken home;
  9. Domestic travelers using long-distance transportation (airplanes, buses, and trains) must show a vaccine certificate (at least the first dose of vaccination) and PCR that valid for 48 hours for planes, as well as antigen (valid for 24 hours) for other long-distance transportation modes;
  10. Keep wearing masks properly and consistently when carrying out activities outside. It is not permitted to use a face shield without wearing a mask; and
  11. The implementation of the Micro PPKM at the Red Zone neighborhood and community units (RT/RW) is still being carried out.
READ ALSO:  Rainfall in Indonesia Increases by 40 Percent due to La Nina Phenomenon

Emergency PPKM Area Coverage:

The Emergency PPKM applies in 48 regencies/cities with an assessment of the pandemic situation at level 4, and 74 regencies/cities with an assessment at level 3 in Java and Bali.

  1. DKI Jakarta for regencies /cities with level 4 criteria, namely the Kepulauan Seribu, West Jakarta, East Jakarta, South Jakarta, North Jakarta, and Central Jakarta.
  2. Banten for regencies/cities with level 3 criteria, namely Tangerang, Serang, Lebak, and Cilegon; and level 4, namely South Tangerang, Tangerang, and Serang.
  3. West Java for regencies /cities with level 3 criteria, namely Sumedang, Sukabumi, Subang, Pangandaran, Majalengka, Kuningan, Indramayu, Garut, Cirebon, Cianjur, Ciamis, Bogor, West Bandung, and Bandung. Then level 4 are Purwakarta, Karawang, Bekasi, Sukabumi, Depok, Cirebon, Cimahi, Bogor, Bekasi, Banjar, Bandung, and Tasikmalaya.
  4. Central Java for regencies /cities with level 3 criteria, namely Wonosobo, Wonogiri, Temanggung, Tegal, Sragen, Semarang, Purworejo, Purbalingga, Pemalang, Pekalongan, Magelang, Kendal, Karanganyar, Jepara, Demak, Cilacap, Brebes, Boyolali, Blora, Batang, Banjarnegara, and Pekalongan. Then level 4 are Sukoharjo, Rembang, Pati, Kudus, Klaten, Kebumen, Grobogan, Banyumas, Tegal, Surakarta, Semarang, Salatiga, and Magelang.
  5. Yogyakarta for the regencies/cities with level 3 criteria, namely Kulonprogo and Gunungkidul; and level 4, namely Sleman, Bantul, and Yogyakarta.
  6. East Java for regencies /cities with level 3 criteria, namely Tuban, Trenggalek, Situbondo, Sampang, Ponorogo, Pasuruan, Pamekasan, Pacitan, Ngawi, Nganjuk, Mojokerto, Malang, Magetan, Lumajang, Kediri, Jombang, Jember, Gresik, Bondowoso, Bojonegoro, Blitar, Banyuwangi, Bangkalan, Probolinggo, and Pasuruan. Then level 4 are Tulungagung, Sidoarjo, Madiun, Lamongan, Surabaya, Mojokerto, Malang, Madiun, Kediri, Blitar, and Batu.
  7. Bali for the regencies /city with level 3 criteria, namely Jembrana, Buleleng, Badung, Gianyar, Klungkung, Bangli, and Denpasar.

Leave a Reply